Indianapolis Day One

This past Wednesday afternoon, I packed my bags, said goodbye to my son and headed to Indianapolis with some of my very favorite people, S&J and their teen son.   Destination: GenCon.  After our 8+ hour car trip we arrived at our hotel a little after 11pm.  We immediately went to bed when we got to our room, all in anticipation of the first day of the con!

We got up pretty early, considering the drive we had made the night before.  I was up first and got coffee for all the adults.  After everyone was ready, we left the hotel for the first of many walks to the convention center.  I had purchased all my gaming tickets and membership online and opted to leave it all at Will Call.  Thank the gods for that, because this was the line for those people who had not purchased prior to arrival.

Thursday RegistrationAnd that is just the back half of the line!  Will Call was a breeze.  There was no one in my line and I walked right up.  After getting the badges and lanyards and swag bags, we needed sustenance.   We ate at this little place that dubbed itself and adult student union.  I had the best breakfast sandwich.  Then we hit the convention center.   The Dealer’s Room was HUGE.  Lots to see and spend money on, which is what I was happy to oblige.  One of my favorite comic book artist/writer was at the show, and he has a new book out.  He does the writing this go round, while another huge talent handles the art.  He signed both books for me and I can’t wait to read them!

After wandering around the dealer’s room for a while, it was time for J and I to go play a game of Munchkinquest.  I was a little nervous because I had not played before, but it was not a problem to pick up the game.  Actually the session that we played in was a prelim round for the Munchkin Quest World Cup.  It was a great deal of fun and my friend J made it into the semifinals!  He had to cancel playing D&D with us, but hey, it was the semifinals!  After Munchkin Quest we just stayed at our table because we were in a Munchkin game next.  S and the son joined us at that time as we all had tickets to this game.   We had a great time playing.  And, the son made it into the semifinal of the Munchkin World Cup!  Like father, like son!  By the time we were done with the games, we decided to go to dinner.  S&J are awesome homebrewers and I am always down for a good beer, so off we went to The Ram.  They totally catered to the gamers.  Check out the top of their menu:

3830655345_2c3fbf9b81

Cthulhu also had appetizers with us:

Cthulhu enjoys salsa

It was a pretty nice place, very friendly, not bad beer.  And they loved the gamers!  After dinner we walked to the Monument and walked around and took pictures.   I had a 9pm game of Illuminati:NWO, so we parted ways.

My game was underwhelming, and ended relatively quickly.  After we were done, one of the guys playing told us that he was ranked as the world champion.    Wow.  So, after the game I met up with S&J at the hotel bar and had a nice Newcastle, then we called it a night.  More tomorrow with Day Two!

1 Comment »

  1. Day two?


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

