Are you the one they call Beowulf?

So, yesterday afternoon my son and I ventured out to the local cineplex to see Beowulf. I was a little unsure about it since it was all CGI.

The I Am Legend trailer makes the movie look awesome, like trailers are supposed to. I hope it is as good as they make it out to be. Cloverfield looks interesting, and I heard that the monster was Cthulhu, but you never get to really see what is attacking NYC, so I am not sure if the Cthulhu info is correct. I leaned over to my son and told him that I wanted to see the monster, and he agreed. We were both disappointed. Back to Beowulf:

Initially the CGI was a little bothersome, but I adjusted. I enjoyed the movie, not really knowing the story. I vaguely remember it being discussed in my senior English class in high school, but that is about it. Oh yeah, the mud show at the local Ren Faire used to do Beowulf in the mud. All I remember of that is calling the monster, “Grendel, Grendel”. I don’t know, weird mud people acting.

Anyway, I liked it. My 13 year old son liked it. I recommend seeing it, especially if you don’t mind video games that are 2 hours long. Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

