Tuesday already!  I meant to post yesterday, but never got around to it. 

How was your weekend?  Mine was good, thanks for asking.  Friday I left work a little early and then headed over to game with some friends.  Several of them are going on extended vacations this summer and this was our last chance to get together before July.  We played a rousing game of Munchkin Cthulhu.  I love all those Munchkin games, they are soooo much fun. 

Saturday my nephew and his mom were in town, so I had family obligations all day.  No big, I love my nephew, he is great.   It also helps that I am his favorite aunt.  (I love that).  He and his mom live a tiny town in N.C., so coming to the suburbs of Atlanta is big shopping opportunities.  We went to the mall.  I haven’t been to the mall in I don’t know how long.  As far as I am concerned we were there waaaayyyyy too long.  I didn’t even buy anything for myself!  I dropped some cash on son, as he swears he only had 2 pair of shorts.  That wasn’t going to be acceptable for the summer at all.  So, 3 pairs of shorts, 2 shirts, khakis and lunch later I was down some monies.  Then when we got in the car to leave he was bitching that he didn’t get anything!   Ahhh, adolescents.  Aren’t they fun?

The rest of the day was a bust.  We had dinner and then went to the pool.  My mom and I weren’t swimming, just along for the ride.  It was a nice evening, not very crowded at the pool.  While we were there, a bunny hopped into the fenced in pool area.  Next thing we know, the bunny is in the pool swimming for dear life!  back and forth it swam, while people on the pool deck tried to rescue it by having it climb onto boogie boards.  I looked for the pool skimmer, but apparently they don’t use one at the pool.  Someone finally jumped in and grabbed it by the scruff of its neck.  The poor bunny opened its little bunny mouth and it SCREAMED!  Twice.  Heartbreaking.  They released it back into the woods.  I have never heard a bunny scream.  Really strange.

After a few Mario Kart morning races with the nephew,  I talked him and son into seeing Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.  I was a little scared because I had not heard good things about it.  I decided that I was going to see it regardless, because I do love Indiana Jones.   It totally delivered.  At least I think it did.  It was just as action packed as the others.  I think it was better than Temple of Doom, but that is my least favorite of the first three.  So, if you are an Indy fan, you should see it.   

Sunday night, Adult Swim showed the third season premiere of The Venture Bros.  LOVED IT.  I thought it was very good.  Loved the twists that Publick and Hammer put into the show.  If you have never checked out The Venture Bros. and you like off beat, not suitable for young viewer cartoons, then Venture is for you.  Think Johnny Quest, but strange.

Well that is about it.  I always think I have these boring weekends where nothing much happens.  Then I write it all out and see that they aren’t so boring.  Go figure.

1 Comment »

  1. We haven’t been to the pool yet.

    I can’t wait to go. Except I’ll be with three kids, one of whom can’t swim, one who thinks she can swim, and the other who is fearless. Maybe not so relaxing after all. 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

