Death of an Xbox

null

 

 

My son loves, loves, loves his gaming.  Whether it be console gaming, or an MMORPG online, he totally digs it.  He is 13, after all!

So, last week he called me during the day to talk to me, or I called him.  I don’t remember.  What I do remember are these words “The xbox died”.  I had to have him repeat the words again.  I have to admit, I did a little dance of joy.  In my head.  I was at work, it wouldn’t have looked good to be dancing the dance of joy.  Anyway, I digress.

I promised him when I got home I would look into what needed to be done to get it up and running.  By the time I had gotten home, he had already looked up all the information needed online.  I also looked up info for my own edification, as he is 13 and one does not always get all information needed when dealing with a 13 year old.  So I called Xbox and reported the red rings of death. 

This was Wednesday night.  The box that they send you to ship back the console is called the casket.  Probably coined from the many gamers on line.  So, I reported, they shipped me the casket.  It arrived on Friday.  It was waiting for me when I got home from work.  Since that was the night that we were going to the concert in the square, I decided to wait to pack it.   So, I packed it that night when we got home.  Since I had a date with the Dark Knight on Saturday morning, I decided I would ship it on Monday.  I left work for a long lunch (read: drive home, get xbox, go to UPS store).  I shipped it, they got it Wednesday and on checking my son’s email this morning, (yes, I read his email.  As should all parents!) they have already shipped it back. 

Thank the gods, I am jonesing for some Rock Band!

1 Comment »

  1. noble pig Said:

    The casket? I love that. And yeah, my eight year was able to look up all the cheat codes for a playstation game online. I had no idea they even existed. Whatever.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

