Record Time

Today was the first day of school here in my little area of the world (the southeast).  Tardy bell is 7:15a.  Last night I put together all the notebooks and pens and dividers and highlighters and every other fecking thing required.  I did not buy the supplies for the homeroom yet.  No rolls of papertowels or hand sanitizer were sent.  Maybe some day next week.

Anyway, last year my son never took a shower shorter than 15 minutes.  And, he was in the bathroom for a total of a half hour every morning.  I don’t know what he was doing in there outside of the shower, and I really don’t wanna know.

So last night at 10:00, it was time for bed.  Being the old lady that I am (44) it is hard for me to keep my eyes open beyond 9:30.  Pathetic, right?  I told him when he went to bed that I was going to get him up at 5:15, fully expecting the full 30 minute regimen of whatever adolescent boys do behind closed doors.  (Already know, really don’t wanna).  Well I overslept a bit and didn’t get him up until 5:30.  Dude was out of the shower, dressed, and almost ready to go in under 20 minutes.  He was ready before me.  He ate breakfast, made his lunch, secured his band instrument and was ready to walk out the door long before we needed to leave.  I was in shock.  We got to the school way early and sat for a little while before he had to escape the car.   I was at work before 7:30. 

I don’t have high hopes for tomorrow….

1 Comment »

  1. noble pig Said:

    Wow, pretty good. I think it’s cute. I’m still annoyed with school starting so early in the summer…you guys must get out in May.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

