WTF?

So, son started school last Thursday.  He and I went to orientation last Wednesday.  When we walked into the school that evening there was a table set up with teachers or admins.  Anyway, we walked up to the table, I gave them son’s name, and they looked him up and wrote down his homeroom number for us.  So, just to recap, orientation, looked up name on list, got schedule, started school. 

I pay tuition for him to attend this school.  It is a public school, but because we live out of the school district (6 miles), I have to pay.  I am willing to pay, he is in a Magnet program focusing on science, math and technology.  And, it isn’t as much as a real private school would be. 

So, yesterday I called the school district central office to talk to the finance department to let them know that I would be paying the entire year’s tuition by the end of this week.   I got voicemail.  I left my message with my name, son’s name and return number.  No call back.  An hour later I get a call from the central office.  I know it is them by the prefix of the phone number.  I figure it is the finance woman calling me back, but I was very wrong.

I don’t remember the name of the woman, but apparently I was to be treated as a hostile client.  Right out of the gate, I was the bad person.  (And I am really not a bad person.  I swear.  Okay, maybe just sometimes.)  She informed me that I had not enrolled my son in school for this year because I had not turned in my Out of District Enrollment Form.  I have to honestly say, I don’t remember ever having to fill this form out since he was in 6th grade.  Over 2 years ago.  I told the lady that, but I was still the bad person. 

MeanLadyFromCentralOffice:  YOU have to go out on the website and print out the enrollment form and sign it and have your principal sign it and then fax it over to the Superintendant’s office.

GG:  But, I don’t remember having to do this last year.

MLFCO:  YOU have to go and get this form and do it as soon as possible, because according to our records your son is not enrolled in the school.

Ummm, if he wasn’t enrolled and you didn’t know about him attending, then how did he get assigned a homeroom and get a class schedule?

And let’s not forget that I haven’t paid my tuition for the month of August.  Forget the fact that they just started school last Thursday.  The school district wants their money damnit!  Disregard the fact that I have already made payment arrangements and have planned on paying in full before the week is out. 

I am a criminal because I have not paid yet.  Whatever.

So, being the dutiful parent that I am, because the gods know I don’t want son sitting around with no education happening, I took in the form this morning and dropped it off for the principal. 

Not 30 minutes later, the principal’s secretary calls because I have not included several items to go along with said form.  Items that I didn’t know were required, because I was just told to sign the paper and get it in RIGHT NOW!!!!!

It is all straightened out and all the items can be acquired in the school.  They have all the required docs, but tell me one thing.  How come I didn’t have to go through this last year?  He went to the same school as this year.  Has always been in school in this district. 

Hello, left hand?  Meet right hand.

1 Comment »

  1. noble pig Said:

    Yeah, someone’s got you on their list! Ouch. Glad it is all cleared up now!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

